Trustpilot
MENU
Compare Selected 0

American Street [9780062473059]

(No reviews yet) Write a Review

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?


AUTHOR: Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her writing has been published in The New York Times Book Review, The Horn Book, and The Rumpus, among others. She is the author of American Street, a National Book Award finalist, and Pride. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at www.ibizoboi.net.
more
less
Free UK Delivery
rrp: $10.05
$9.54
(You save $0.50 )
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Add to Wish List
SKU:
9780062473059
UPC:
9780062473059
Availability:
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days
Author:
Ibi Zoboi
Publisher:
Balzer and Bray
Publication:
12-Jul-2018
Format:
Paperback
Pages:
352
American Sacred Space cover photo

American Sacred Space [9780253210067]

In a series of pioneering studies, this book examines the creation-and the conflict behind the creation-of sacred space in America. The essays in this…

rrp: $26.39
$20.11
Add to Cart
Delivery Usually In 6-15 Working Days